12 Monkeys

12 Monkeys

Star IconStar Icon

When I learned the Syfy channel was going to air a TV series based on the amazing Terry Gilliam movie and monster cult hit 12 Monkeys, I thought it would either be really good or really bad. I gamely gave this a shot and to my surprise, it was downright fair-to-middling mediocre. The premise is undeniably interesting but the project is at a disadvantage to begin with, trying to follow Bruce Willis, Madeleine Stowe and Brad Pitt’s epic performances. I think a mistake was made in taking a page out of the CW’s book and casting young, beautiful actors in what looks like an attempt to make the show more appealing to hipsters. I had difficulty connecting with the two leads, as the roles seemed just too big for them, and I really missed the crazy accordion music from the movie that highlighted the bizarre nature of the story. This lacked the grit and urgency of the original, perhaps due to some fundamental changes in the plot, which I will naturally not reveal here. The show is also missing the unique brand of humor that made the movie so unforgettable (Que Christopher Plummer saying in withering tones: “Women Psychiatrists…”). It does have potential, much to recommend it and and all the assemblage of ingredients necessary to become a decently good show. I’m just not holding my breath and will not likely invest my time in order to find out whether it succeeds or falls flat. Evidently the Syfy channel thinks it’s a hit, as they’ve renewed it for a second season, but since this is the network that canceled incredible shows like CrusadeCapricaAlphas and Eureka and yet invests millions in ridiculous creature feature mash-ups like Sharktopus vs Pteracuda, I don’t think I’ll put much stock in their judgement.  I thought maybe I could hate-watch their version of 12 Monkeys and make snarky comments, but drat if it isn’t bad enough for that! Undeniable conclusion: Meh. – BETHANY

For more on this mediocre show, visit the Internet Movie Database

James Cole, Dr. Cassandra Railly, and Jennifer Goines

Dr. Cassandra Railly (Amanda Schull), James Cole (Aaron Stanford)

Project Splinter

Jennifer Goines (Emily Hampshire)

José Ramse (Kirk Acevedo) and Katarina Jones (Barbara Sukowa)

 

Photos courtesy of Alcon Television, The Sean Daniel Company, NBCUniversal Television Distribution, Legendary Global TV Distribution and the Syfy channel

You are cordially invited to comment

