Winter’s Tale

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Once I got over my disappointment that this wasn’t in any way connected to Shakespeare’s play, I absolutely loved Winter’s Tale. It’s a gorgeous romantic and inspiring story underpinned by the classic good vs evil paradigm. Russell Crowe and Will Smith went totally against type and played villainous characters with panache and eerie stillness, and Jessica Brown Findlay steals the show as doomed beauty Beverly Penn. Every time I thought I had figured out where the story was going, the writers surprised me by veering in a totally unexpected direction. I understand the screenplay is based on a much loved and exponentially more complex book which I have yet to read and many fans are upset by how little the movie has in common with its source material. However, judged solely on its own merits, this is an incredible story that celebrates each and every unique human soul along with some rather profound observations about human nature and the purpose of the universe. “I’ll tell you something that should chill your blood. Now matter how far we tip the scales our way, no matter how many of them we turn dark, nothing seems to break their capacity for hope. They pass it back and forth like the flu at a preschool fair. We’re losing, Lucifer. One bright star at a time, we’re losing.” I guess even bad guys gripe with one another around the metaphorical water cooler. My favorite visual element has to be the White Horse (anybody know where I can get one?) – those spectacular ethereal wings! I was moved by this beautiful and enchantingly thoughtful film, an uplifting and meaningful fairy tale that will restore your faith and inspire you to hope. Immensely satisfying! [I have since read the book, which I loved, and there is little resemblance to the movie. However, I love them both equally. The movie is an impression vaguely related to just one of the story lines in the book, but as long as you don’t expect the two to be similar, you can enjoy them both.] – BETHANY

For more on Winter’s Tale, visit http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1837709/?ref_=nv_sr_1

https://yourhappyplaceblog.files.wordpress.com/2014/02/winters-tale-screencaps-3.jpg?w=1315&h=740A dreamy scene utilizing some subtle but spectacular special effects.

Beverly Penn and Peter Lake at a dance in the Coheeries.  I don’t care for the haircut they gave Peter’s character, but everything else is gorgeous.

Did Peter steal the horse or did the horse steal Peter?

https://theregularmoviegoer.files.wordpress.com/2014/02/winter-s-tale-picture07.jpg?w=1415&h=583Why yes, I do sound like the Lucky Charms leprechaun but I’m still plenty scary.

https://i2.wp.com/nationalave.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/wt2.jpgSome rather obvious symbolism

Photos courtesy of Village Roadshow Pictures, Weed Road Pictures, Warner Bros. Pictures and Roadshow Entertainment

You are cordially invited to comment

